Current Interest: 2010 Winner of the Mark Twain Masonic Awareness Award Announced

Mark Twain Award

At the 2011 meeting of the Conference of Grand Masters of North America in Denver, Colorado, the Masonic Information Center (MIC) announced the 2010 winners of the highly regarded Mark Twain Award for Excellence in Masonic Awareness. The award recognizes lodges that have demonstrated exemplary work in constructing a positive Masonic identity within the lodge and for the local community.

MW Richard E. Fletcher, Executive Secretary of the MIC said, “The Twain Award represents our Fraternity’s grass roots efforts to generate enthusiasm and build relevance for Freemasonry, Brother by Brother—Lodge by Lodge. The Twain Award competition is just one way the members of diverse backgrounds and multiple generations work together to innovate Masonic education and communication.”

Here in a concise form are the details of the Twain Award:

WHO: Regular lodges throughout North America are invited to participate in a competition that evaluates initiatives and activities that create a positive Masonic identity in the community.

WHAT: The Mark Twain Masonic Awareness Awards are presented annually to the lodges that demonstrate exceptional commitment to Freemasonry’s philosophy of self-improvement and enlightenment.

WHY: Awards are made to the participating lodges that, in the evaluation of the MIC Task Force, have successfully addressed the challenges of improving Masonic Awareness within both the lodge and the community and that the brothers have done so with exemplary skill, creativity, and resourcefulness.
WHEN: The MIC announces the winners of the Mark Twain Award once a year at the Grand Master’s Conference.

For information about the 2011 Mark Twain Award, visit the MSANA web site:


Helion Lodge No. 1, Huntsville, Alabama
Oasis Lodge No. 52, Tucson, Arizona
Henri Lodge No. 190, Tonganoxie, Kansas
Bay View Lodge No. 196, E. Boothbay, Maine
John T. Heard Lodge, Ipswich, Massachusetts
Helios Lodge No. 273, Cambridge, Minnesota
Boulder City Lodge No. 37, Boulder City, Nevada
Benevolent Lodge No. 7, Milford, New Hampshire
Atlas Pythagoras Lodge No. 10, Westfield, New Jersey
Temple Lodge No. 6, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Sandia Mountain Lodge No. 72, Albuquerque, New Mexico
Harmonie Lodge No. 699, Amherst, New York
Statesville Lodge No. 27, Statesville, North Carolina
Tippecanoe Lodge No. 174, Tipp City, Ohio
Sand Springs Lodge No. 475, Sand Springs, Oklahoma
South McAlester Lodge No. 96, McAlester, Oklahoma
Daylight Lodge No. 232, Seattle, Washington